Friday, 1 August 2014 »  Login
in
»
Voluntary Organizations » Blue Cross Of Hyderabad
I am at

Blue Cross Of Hyderabad

Blue Cross Of Hyderabad
Krithika Akkaraju / fullhyd.com
Background
The Blue Cross Of Hyderabad was conceptualized by Amala Akkineni, Nagarjuna Akkineni and Dr. Vijaya Kumar (from the Dept of Animal Husbandry, AP), and formally registered as a society in 1993. Initially set up as an animal rescue service, the Blue Cross additionally offers an impressive range of services for animals. It would surprise you to know that since its inception, the Society has successfully helped 90,295 animals as we write this in early 2004.

Activities
Apart from ambulance and rescue services, other programs of the Blue Cross include animal birth control, anti-rabies inoculations, humane education and veterinary services for pets and strays. Yes, an animal needs a lot more than just a daily feed. Their veterinary clinic is open to the public from 10am to 1pm everyday, except Mondays.

Membership And Volunteer Opportunities
A Blue Cross membership is not that easy to come by anymore - you can't get one just because "it's hip", or simply because you're an ardent animal lover. Committed individuals can contact the Blue Cross and enroll themselves for a 1-day workshop and put in 12 hours of service for certification as a volunteer. Workshops are held in batches of 6 at the center.

Interesting volunteer options include "adopting on site" - i. e., looking after an animal for a day at the Center - adopting a "dog for life" (at the Center), donating to the "Feeding Scheme", and adopting a pet (post a personal interview, of course). For the younger population, find out how you can start your very own animal club - customized with your very own club name!

Cash donations can be made by cheque/DD in favor of "The Blue Cross of Hyderabad", and mailed to their registered office.

The Blue Cross is no longer a two-roomed office with sheds outside for abandoned dogs. 2 full-time vets attend to immaculately maintained wards for dogs, cats, cattle, monkeys and birds. It's heartening to step inside the premises and be greeted with a cheerful bark and content mew, rather than a holler of painful neglect.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
BLUE CROSS OF HYDERABAD SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
7.3
10 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
EVENTS AT BLUE CROSS OF HYDERABAD
There are no events at Blue Cross Of Hyderabad scheduled currently.
BLUE CROSS OF HYDERABAD USER REVIEWS
1 - 8 OF 8 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
7.3
10 USERS
Quality Of Work
Quality Of People
Activeness
5.0
6.0
3.0
Sandeep Poosarla on 9th Mar 2014, 5:37pm | Permalink
I love it . I am a 6 year old boy.
Can i become a bluecross member?
sreeja on 21st Dec 2013, 11:01am | Permalink
i want a labrader puppy
Saketh on 9th Feb 2014, 6:26pm | Permalink
I would like to know the office timings as i want to drop a puppy..
Vasanthi Rajaraman on 19th Mar 2013, 12:06pm | Permalink
I would like to serve in the Blue cross, i am staying in a place called Kompally 22km from Paradise Secunderabad on NH 7, i would like to contact Amala mam and find out if she could open a branch in our area,
P.N.DOSHI on 29th Dec 2012, 8:08pm | Permalink
MY PET IS 18 MONTHS OLD MALE.IT IS VERY AGGRESIVE AND ALWAYS BITES MY DAUGHTER.LAST 10 DAYS BACK I GOT IT NEUTERED,,TRAINER SAYS IT CANNOT BE TRAINED.I WANT TO ABANDON MY POMERE
NION.PLEASE SUGGEST.
Ganeshbabu.ch on 27th Aug 2012, 11:17am | Permalink
Blue cross is meant for saving nature and animal kingdom.Here in hyderabad,Amala madame is doing a great service of saving stay animals along with the voluntary service of many.
Congrats to all
jazz on 7th Oct 2008, 3:42pm | Permalink
i wanna be an active volunteer for the animals but there is no proper guidence for me . how can i contact any person from blue cross if i find an animal in a pathetic condition .

Pros: the staff is quiet friendly and the food given and the neatness is just ok
Cons: they do nothave seperate cages for the infected pup .all d pups r mixed up in one cage or two .
RATING
5
Pavan Moganty on 1st Nov 2007, 9:00pm | Permalink
safety of the residents of hyderabad(due to inability of the authorities in curbing terrorist forces) and poor condition of the city's roads is definitely upsetting.
RATING
6
Srihari Prasad on 14th Jul 2007, 2:04pm | Permalink
s
RATING
2
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Blue Cross Of Hyderabad!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
Satyam Enclave, 2-74, Jeedimetla Village
Plot Number 7, LIC Colony, Sikh Village (7.7km)
5-3-419, Jeera, Behind Mody Motors, Bansilalpet (4.6km)
C/o Mr Venkat Reddy, 201/202, Narayan Apartments, Sri Hanumanji Co-Operative Housing Society, West Marredpally (6.6km)
502, Trendset Towers, Road Number 2, Banjara Hills (5.3km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
blue cross Hyderabad
blue cross of dogs in hyderabad
amala pet care center address details
blu cross location in hyderabad
bluecross hyderabad phone numbers
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.