Friday, 29 August 2014 »  Login
in
»
Multiplexes / Cinema Theatres » Cinemax (Banjara Hills)
I am at

Cinemax (Banjara Hills)

Cinemax (Banjara Hills)
Deepa Garimella / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
7.5
Comfort
Ambience
Cleanliness
Audio/Visual Quality
5.0
8.0
8.0
8.0
Suggestions
Good for date/family
NA
Easy parking
NA
Decent legroom
NA
Raising the bar, in a very limited way, to the movie-watching experience in Hyderabad, is a new multiplex in that part of town whose inhabitants really needed some bar-raising. At least, that is what the myth that surrounded Cinemax's pricing, suggested. To set some facts straight, this red-themed 3-screen package from the Mumbai-based Kanakia group is definitely a great option for those who live around the area, or might be passing through it, and want to watch a movie right away.

Then, ordinary tickets are priced as at any other multiplex, at Rs. 100, and the higher price of Rs. 200 is for the recliner seats, which number 88 out of the total of 1,001 seats at the multiplex. Hence, the raised bar is only if you have purchased tickets for Rs. 200 each, chances of which are... you do the math. And sure as hell, your chances can get pummelled on weekends.

Screen 1, the biggest, has a total capacity of 481 seats. Its top 2 rows are designated as The Red Lounge, which consists of 52 lushly upholstered, adjustable recliners that let you behave like you're at home, minus cursing the intrusive doorbell. The other 2 screens have seating capacities of 250 and 270, with just the top row (18 seats) in the Rs. 200 category. The legroom is, of course, ample wherever you have recliners, but the same can't be said of the rest of the rows.

The VIP treatment for those who cared to spend Rs. 200, is not limited to just this. Red Loungers can wait before their show, at a plushly done-up seating area in a niche on the floor, a little away from the rest. While letting you attract stares of envy from among the waiting 'crowd', as well as being a good location for holding movie promos, this spot also overlooks the front of the L V Prasad Eye Hospital (and the main road, of course), a view that could even cause you to note a few of life's ironies.

For others, the experience is normal multiplex fare, with great sound and good viewing quality. The experience, of course, deteriorates quickly as you go down the rows (hence, the rating on the 'comfort' parameter takes a hit). The first row, for the smaller screens, is a few metres away from the screen, and is a masochistic way to watch giant-sized moving images after having paid Rs. 100 for it.

As expected from a corporate house already in the business of multiplexes, the washrooms are clean, and the staff is courteous. Orders placed at the snack counter are delivered to your seat, too (and this is for everyone, not just the couch potatoes in the last row).

At the time of writing this (Jan 2009), the parking lot for 2-wheelers, a rubble-encrusted ground, proves to be quite painful for your vehicle. Also, the slightly cramped ticket counters are at one end of the complex, and are away from the currently used entrance into the building. With these initial issues ironed out, Cinemax, even with its inclination to disappoint last-minute weekend-show bookers with its limited capacity, could halt quite a bit of the Prasads crowd right here.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
CINEMAX (BANJARA HILLS) SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
5.6
9 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
MOVIES AT CINEMAX (BANJARA HILLS)
There are 8 movies at Cinemax (Banjara Hills) being screened currently.
CINEMAX (BANJARA HILLS) USER REVIEWS
1 - 11 OF 11 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
5.6
9 USERS
Comfort
Ambience
Cleanliness
Audio/Visual Quality
4.9
6.1
8.3
7.3
Good for date/family - No
Easy parking - No
Decent legroom - No
avani on 12th Apr 2013, 7:38pm | Permalink
'outside food not allowed'.... And that includes harmless mints like polo or a granola bar not a tiffin box of parathas or idlis! They give you a paper token so you can convince the doorman to allow u to go back to the entry gate and claim your half-finished granola bar or polo packet! Most of us leave it for the staff to party with! What a strategy to retain staff!I can understand if you stop me from bringing in a box of grilled chicken inside... Since you want to promote 'your' food stalls.... But granola bars? really? Customer service? Is this how you promise Entertainment by first pissing off your customers???if you give me a logical reason to support this Absolutely ridiculous policy, i will adhere... Until then boycott!
avani on 12th Apr 2013, 7:35pm | Permalink
'outside food not allowed'.... And that includes harmless mints like polo or a granola bar not a tiffin box of parathas or idlis! They give you a paper token so you can convince the doorman to allow u to go back to the entry gate and claim your half-finished granola bar or polo packet! Most of us leave it for the staff to party with! What a strategy to retain staff!I can understand if you stop me from bringing in a box of grilled chicken inside... Since you want to promote 'your' food stalls.... But granola bars? really? Customer service? Is this how you promise Entertainment by first pissing off your customers???
I cannot rate my experience since you ruined my mood as i entered your theatre!

Give me a logical reason to support this absolutely ridiculous policy and i will adhere.
avani on 12th Apr 2013, 7:32pm | Permalink
'outside food not allowed'.... And that includes harmless mints like polo or a granola bar not a tiffin box of parathas or idlis! They give you a paper token so you can convince the doorman to allow u to go back to the entry gate and claim your half-finished granola bar or polo packet! Most of us leave it for the staff to party with! What a strategy to retain staff!

I can understand if you stop me from bringing in a box of grilled chicken inside... Since you want to promote 'your' food stalls.... But granola bars? really? Customer service? Is this how you promise Entertainment by first pissing off your customers???

Absolutely ridiculous!

I cannot rate the rest of my experience since they ruined my mood before it began!
chaitu yarlagadda on 20th Nov 2012, 1:16pm | Permalink
these guys have exploited me with non refunding 1100 bucks for skyfall's failed booking status.....they dont even respond to my call for the money refund....
Kishore on 27th Aug 2012, 10:33am | Permalink
The popcorn is Rs. 120. Exactly the same amount of popcorn costs Rs. 40 in Prasads. That's daylight robbery, especially given the actual cost of that popcorn would be about Rs. 10-15, and it would be priced Rs. 25-40 anywhere outside.
RATING
7
ankitha on 3rd Jul 2012, 2:56pm | Permalink
waste of watching in 3d of spiderman in cinemax, banjara.. the quality of glasses was more than worse and the food - about popcorn, it's not crispy n too salty... why would i again enter there? why wud i refer my friends cinemax...?
mngruon on 8th Jun 2012, 5:59pm
Post deleted.
vasueicon on 26th Apr 2012, 2:55am | Permalink
All 10/10 still...it got big screen..hence if you fall in a chair near the walls..it is like you're missing the other side of the screen..I wonder why they design like this..keep a row that is very close to the screen..I recommend not to go if you don't get tickets upper.
RATING
10
Raveen on 30th Sep 2010, 2:52pm | Permalink
Clarity is seling the tickets online is not available via BookMyShow. Many times it is not reachable. I and my friends are fans of Cinemax but availability of tickets are very tricky.
Siri on 8th Jul 2009, 1:46pm | Permalink
No legroom... No comfort in seating. Waste of money...
Spent 240 for movie tickets

Pros: Want to punish anyone? Then take them to CineMax. Make them watch 2 shows, be careful u r not accompanying them or else U too will will feel the punishment.
Cons: Where do I keep my legs? on d head of people sitting in the front seat...... hmmm
RATING
1
naren on 8th Jul 2009, 1:31pm | Permalink
With so many new Cinema Halls around in City selecting "CineMax" (Banjara) for comfort is the worst experience.
You can't even stretch your legs. Sitting for 2-2.1/2 hrs with folding legs is really a pain.
No legroom at all.
If you feel hungry and grab a coke or burger or anything at food plaza in the Ground or 1st Floor, you are not allowed to enter into cinema hall, you cannot take the food items which you brought inside the cinema hall. There is a separate zone where you need to purchase eatables to take it inside the cinema hall. You need to spend few extra bucks again b'coz food items purchased only in the cinema level will be allowed inside the cinema hall. This is riduculous strategy.
I prefer the new GVK One's Inox at Banjara. It is awesome. Good Seating and very comfort. We can relax completely and enjoy the movie.

Pros: Eatables purchased inside the dam building is not allowed and need to spend only at special foodzone to take it inside the cinema hall.
Cons: Not a good idea for date
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Cinemax (Banjara Hills)!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
In GVK One Mall, Road Number 1, Banjara Hills (3.2km)
5-30, Geetha Nagar, Near Bus Stop, Malkajgiri, Malkajgiri (9.5km)
Lingampally 'X' Roads, Chandanagar
ECIL X Roads, ECIL (13.4km)
Beside Nacharam Bus Stop, Nacharam (7.9km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
cinemax banjarahils now showing movies
Cinemax in banjara hill
SILVERSEATING IN CINEMA HALLS HYDERABAD
Cinemax Banjara Hills Website
cinemax banjara hills contact number?
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.