Saturday, 29 July 2017 »  Login
in
»
Multiplexes / Cinema Theatres » Kumar 70mm (Kachiguda)
I am at

Kumar 70mm (Kachiguda)

Kumar 70mm (Kachiguda)
Preetam Chandra / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
5.0
Comfort
Ambience
Cleanliness
Audio/Visual Quality
7.0
5.0
4.0
7.0
Suggestions
Good for date/family
NA
Easy parking
NA
Decent legroom
NA
A perfect case of a theater going over to the Dark Side. Once the proud provider of a whole generation's Hollywood favorites, Kumar is now a mere shadow of its former self. With Sangeet and Anand, Kumar formed the triumvirate that screened quality English flicks. Together they took a plunge into Bollywood, and while Anand and Sangeet came out unscathed, Kumar is now left screening soft-porn and B-grade duds to make ends meet.

Jammed parking lots and full lobbies are now a haunting memory. Decrepit staircases wind confusingly to unnecessary levels, and sometimes to nowhere at all. Half-done renovations leave huge amounts of legroom, but there is absolutely no shoulder-room. The Rs. 20 seating area is very high up, and it strains your neck to look down onto the screen. The amazing sound system that came as part of the post-Jurassic-Park-theater-renovation all around Hyderabad is, however, still top-notch.

The loos are leaky and broken, but clean. The snack stand is a perfect instance of looting with a license. And walls once adorned with Hollywood screen idols now display peeling paint.

Happy memories of my first John Woo flick, Face/Off, have now taken a beating.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
KUMAR 70MM (KACHIGUDA) SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
3.4
5 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
MOVIES AT KUMAR 70MM (KACHIGUDA)
There are no movies at Kumar 70mm (Kachiguda) scheduled currently.
KUMAR 70MM (KACHIGUDA) USER REVIEWS
1 - 10 OF 10 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
3.4
5 USERS
Comfort
Ambience
Cleanliness
Audio/Visual Quality
4.0
4.0
5.0
NA
Good for date/family - Unsure
Easy parking - Yes
Decent legroom - Yes
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 21st Aug 2015, 8:35pm | Permalink
Thank you vazrox for your reviews and thank for your info on hfr. I started watching movies in single screen cinemas only after reading your reviews.Just yesterday watched brothers in asian ganga theatre and i was totally blown away by the 4K picture and sound quality and ramakrishna mukta A2 is also equally good.Devi,sudarshan,asian ganga and shiva all have 4k projectors and i am sure because of this the picture quality is excellent.Just a small query are you on twitter would love to follow you.
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 9th Aug 2015, 2:05pm | Permalink
My fist experience at Saptagiri while watching Happy new year and at Tarakarama whle watching 300 was just fantastic but when i visited these theatres again after a gap of 6 to 7 months it was totally opposite.Why does the management reduce the brightness of the projector and i suppose it is to save money and it is this reason why multiplexes are way ahead were the screen is always brightly lit.This is the reason they are staying ahead in competition with single screens and certainly they give good value for the money spent.But then watching in a well maintained big screen cinemas like devi 70mm, Sudarshan 35mm,Eeshwar 70mm,Asian Ganga and Asian Shiva is an all together fantastic experience.
vazrox on 19th Aug 2015, 3:12pm | Permalink
Technically there are two types of digital prints i.e the HFR: High Frame Rate print as well as the normal digital print(720p/1080p)....multiplexes and theaters like devi,sandhya,sudarshan always use HFR digital prints therefore the visual quality is very high in these places and these cost HIGH too.....where as theaters like kumar,saptagiri...instead of having 2k projection equipment they are using the low resolution digital prints i.e why the visual quality is very low and these costs comparatively much lesser than the HFR digital prints. And one more reason is the projectors Bulb,it should be replaced once in a month if not so it will affect the quality of the visual output....ive never talked to the managements abt this so cant point out the exact reason.
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 5th Aug 2015, 8:30pm | Permalink
Vazrox thanks for the reply.
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 27th Feb 2015, 7:16pm | Permalink
Thanks for your comment vazrox and now only 2 theatres remain on my list one is VISHWANATH kukatpally which has 2K projector and it has been confirmed by neumrous paper ads and save telugu cinema blogspot and another one is BRAMARAMBA.I had seen only one paper ad in andhra jyoti regarding 2K projection at this theatre but their is no mention at save telugu cinema.Kindly confirm whether this theatre has a 2K projection.
vazrox on 31st Jul 2015, 10:17am | Permalink
ive been to bramaramba it has a BARCO 2K projector.
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 23rd Jan 2015, 10:48am | Permalink
Vazrox really appreciate your comment.I have been to atleast 15 single screen cinemas in the past 1 year and the following are best 2K and 4K theatres.DEVI,SANDHYA 35MM,SAPTAGIRI,SHANTI,TARAKARAMA,EESHWAR,ASIAN SHIVA,ASIAN GANGA,TARAKARAMA,RAMAKRISHNA 35MM GLITTERATI,TIVOLI all have excellent projection and sound .I was disappointed by the picture quality of SANTOSH,KUMAR and SHIVA PARVATI THEATRES.
vazrox on 14th Feb 2015, 9:16am | Permalink
totally agree with u Aslam ...ive also been to all the above theatres and felt the same.
ASLAM SIDDIQUI on 13th Sep 2014, 7:14pm | Permalink
It seems kumar theatre has installed 2k projector but in spite of this the picture quality is very dull.
vazrox on 25th Dec 2014, 8:40pm | Permalink
Yes ..saw CREATURE movie here felt the same..
Even I had the same experience with santhosh(a bids) which also is equipped with 2k but has a very dull picture quality...
vazrox on 27th Apr 2014, 1:01pm | Permalink
now eqquiped with 2k digital projection.
Geetha on 18th Jul 2012, 9:37am | Permalink
My first memory with this theatre was Mighty Joe Young, which still retains to be one of my favourite movies of all time. Next comes Sarfarosh. Guess that's that!

Since then, none could even visit theatre which turned out to be a far from Family visiting place :( This is a real good spot in the city and i really hope teh owners somehow figure out investing to renovate this completely.

Movies and theatres are always a top business in India. With so much crowd there, i am sure there wouldnt be any low profits!
RATING
2
vasueicon on 26th Apr 2012, 3:51am | Permalink
There was a Big screen and Dolby Digital sound when I watched The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

but now at the time of Band Bajaa Baarat,
Screen 5/10
Projection 3/10
Sound 4/10

mostly hindi and english dubbed hindi movies run here.
RATING
3
Ram Babu on 21st Jun 2003, 4:44pm | Permalink
great
RATING
8
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Kumar 70mm (Kachiguda)!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
On Vijayawada Highway, Near LB Nagar Crossroads, Vanasthalipuram
Street Behind Petrol Pump, Lakdi-ka-Pul (1.1km)
158/159, S P Road (6.0km)
RTC X Roads, Chikkadpally (4.1km)
3-2-276, New General Bazar, S D Road (5.5km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
kumar 70mm cinema
us couple seats in kumar tgeater kacheguda
kumar theater seatings
Kumar theatre
kumar theatre
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.