Thursday, 30 October 2014 »  Login
in
»
I am at

Oakridge International School (Gachibowli)

Oakridge International School (Gachibowli)
C Venkatesh / fullhyd.com
Oakridge is, currently and for the foreseeable future, a school for the well-heeled.

International Schools have long held an allure for the upwardly mobile Hyderabadi. International prices have long provided a compelling deterrent. Oakridge International has made some strides towards addressing the latter, but hasn't yet gone very far in drawing in the local lads and lasses. Part of the problem may stem from the efficiency of its marketing (or "communications", as the school prefers to call it) machine. Expectations are set high, perhaps higher than reasonable.

The fees have seen market-driven downward-revisions over the last couple of years (as we write this in late 2005), but the school has yet to throw off its current image: a halfway house for returning adolescent NRIs. Asked about his choice, one parent said, "Oakridge seemed like a good balance between academics, cultural activities, and sports/physical education, (and) the kids would not suffer such a shock coming from American public schools."

Probably realizing that not all kids in the twin cities are returning from American Schools, Oakridge seems to be reworking the message. Set in a large, well-laid-out campus in the Cyberabad area, and supported by a remarkably complete website (quick and no cheating: how many schools can you name that list the daily menu on their website, right down to fruit "triffle" and "jalebi"?) and cooperative staff, it's taken several right initial steps.

Inquiring parents are treated well, which is a welcome change in Indian schooling. Procedures for admission are documented comprehensively on the school's website, though transcripts for the previous three years are a little more demanding than the average Hyderabadi is used to.

Oakridge is affiliated to the CBSE, and students take the Board exam at the end of their 10th class. This is an "IB" school, which means your kids can prepare for the International Baccalaureate program, but you'll have to judge the relevance of that for yourself. Budding engineers and doctors can pick the science stream (with the standard Maths-Physics-Chemistry or Biology-Physics-Chemistry combinations) though this is no entrance-exam-boot-camp. Commerce and humanities are an alternative option.

Si, polyglots, hablo espanol. And oui, je parlais Francais. Hindi, of course, is compulsory, courtesy the CBSE.

Tuition fees run to about Rs. 40,000 per year for the Nursery, and range from about Rs. 50,000 to Rs. 80,000 for the Grade School. Busing, textbooks, lunch etc. are charged for separately.

Student grading is not the average garden variety. Kids are given space to grow, and parents are encouraged to discuss evaluations. The real world is a little less accommodating, of course, and the cosseting the kids receive invites Holden Caulfield comparisons. These are probably unjustified. Bringing up a kid is at least as much about parenting as it is about schooling.

Like we said, currently and for the foreseeable future, a school for the well-heeled. If you think your kids deserve or require air-conditioned classrooms and air-conditioned busing, this is one of the places you should look at.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
OAKRIDGE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL (GACHIBOWLI) SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
4.7
3 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
EVENTS AT OAKRIDGE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL (GACHIBOWLI)
There are no events at Oakridge International School (Gachibowli) scheduled currently.
OAKRIDGE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL (GACHIBOWLI) USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 21 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
4.7
3 USERS
Quality
Ambience
Service/Courteousness
Value For Money
NA
NA
NA
NA
somashekar on 1st Jul 2014, 3:13pm | Permalink
hello, mam
is there any vacancy fr art teacher, if any
iam somashekar
sombfa@gmail.com
Mohammed Irfan Ahmad on 14th May 2014, 12:26am | Permalink
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to know the procedure including fee structure for new admission for grade 2 and 4 students. I am planning to make my both son's admission in your good and organized school as I know, for the next academic year (2015). kindly provide me the contact person name, number and email address for further enquires.
my email id: mdirfan1@yahoo.com

Kind regards,
M. Srinivas Rao on 17th Mar 2014, 1:20pm | Permalink
Respected sir/madam, i m.srinivas rao would like to join as a maths teacher. so please kindly inform to me. email adress : srinu0913@gmail.com
Rose Lee on 22nd Jan 2014, 4:25pm | Permalink
I am very happy of the school in the they are performing.My son got more practical knowledge as Oakridge makes kids to be part in activities which are conducted by them.Any one looking to join in international school I will suggest them Oakridge.
Annu Mittal on 19th Sep 2013, 12:28pm | Permalink
I am working as a Trainer in NIIT ltd since 5 + yrs .Looking for an opening in your school .Please mail me on annu4mittal@gmail.com
08297349191
Amrita on 28th Aug 2013, 11:55am | Permalink
i am M.A B.Ed and looking for a job in ur school as primary teacher .. my email id is ojhamrita2301@gmail.com
Nithin Kothwal on 23rd Aug 2013, 9:17am | Permalink
HI, I'm working in Cognizant Technology Solutions, DLF-Hyd, looking for a position in OAKRIDGE. I'm an MBA, can mail me at kwalnithin98@gmail.com

I would like to have your response as soon as possible. Thank you.
Nithin Kothwal on 19th Oct 2013, 8:30am | Permalink
Hi
I do not found any response from you yet, Please review, Thanks.
Sumera. on 2nd Aug 2013, 11:07am | Permalink
Oakridge International School is one of the good School.I am really happy with the practical approach towards academics.My child loves going to school.Their is good balance maintained between academics and Sports.
Kids are encouraged to participate in various events conducted by the School.
The facilities offered are world class with good hygiene maintained.

Any parent looking for kids admission can visit them and know the details.
Anonymous on 5th Jan 2014, 12:12am | Permalink
I guess you must be some Oakridge employee who has been asked to write good things. In reality it actually sucks because it's all artificial. High fees but no infrastructure. Classes have projectors which don't function most of the times and speakers is another story. Children of grade 5 don't know To - Be verbs in English. So you can now realise the quality of education offered there and not to mention the ultra poor quality of teachers coz the salary that they pay is not good enough to higher competent teachers and the best teachers leave the school within a year or two making the attrition rate one of the highest. Every year around 80- 100 teachers resign and sometimes children have experienced 14-15 Foreign language teachers in the same year. And you can't negate me because I am an ex employee of this fake school
P.KAVISAMRAT on 13th Feb 2013, 4:51pm | Permalink
HAI ANYONE LOOKING FOR CHESS COACH PLZ CONTACT ME AT 9000301024
RAJANIKANTH on 3rd Dec 2012, 11:07am | Permalink
i want to join my brother's son , i want admission details & phone numbers of Gachibowli branch
syeda hajira on 27th Nov 2012, 6:13pm | Permalink
myself SYEDA HAJIRA (MA BSC B.ED) i have an experience of abt 4yrs as a cashier cum receptionist. I wd like 2 b a part of ur school as an employee rather as a teacher or in my experience reletated post. my email id is syedahajira59@yahoo.com
mrinalini on 7th Nov 2012, 11:54am | Permalink
mam i am mrinalini from alwal lothukunta i am looking for a job for pp1 and nursery.
kasturi on 30th Oct 2012, 10:54pm | Permalink
i want to know weather there are any vacancies in telugu as a teacher can plz reply
rapper prakash on 8th Oct 2012, 4:25pm | Permalink
you have any name of priya in your school. why because i want to find him. u have means plz send me message on my facebook id on, rapperprakash@gmail.com. help me.
asra fatima on 3rd Oct 2012, 10:19pm | Permalink
Dear Sir/Mam, I would like to join my daughter in PP 1 . Kindly let me know the admission process and procedure and age.
1 - 15 OF 21 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Oakridge International School (Gachibowli)!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
Moinabad Mandal, Aziznagar
Hyderabad-Pargi Road, Rangareddy District (8.0km)
Street Number 3, Kakatiya Nagar, Hubsiguda (8.0km)
Road Number 82, Jubilee Hills (8.7km)
Plot No. 962, Road No.48, Near Hi-tech City, Madhapur (14.0km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
oakridge hyderabad fee structure 2015
sloka high school moinabad fee structure
salaries in oakridge hyderabad for teachers
okridge international school gachibowli
oakridge international school samuel sir number
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.