Wednesday, 22 November 2017 »  Login
in
»
Restaurants / Bars » Southern Spice
I am at

Southern Spice

Southern Spice
Deepa Menon / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
8.0
Food
Service/Courteousness
Ambience
Value For Money
8.0
7.0
7.0
NA
Suggestions
Good for date/family
NA
Easy parking
NA
Long waiting
NA
SS is a big hit with Andhraites for two reasons: first, it confines its exploration of South Indian cuisine almost exclusively to the Andhra belt and its palate-scorchers. This, the natives would agree, is the only sensible way to go about it. And second, it does such a great job of bringing authentic regional flavours to your table that a full-course meal feels like a little whirlwind tour of the state we call home.

Don't let the small mob sitting outside dampen your spirit, the wait for a table at SS is never too long because nobody inside has any trouble polishing off whatever is on their plate. Done up to invoke a rustic mood, the restaurant's entrance is complete with mud pillars and little rangoli patterns on the walls. Inside however, you won't have to waste too much time appreciating the dcor. Service is fairly quick, once you've made up your mind. But that is the tough part.

So we've decided, in all our magnanimity, to spare you the heartache and take you through the sure-fire hits on the menu. The raagi sangati and jonne rotte are firm favourites for the main course. As are the chicken chettinad, the gongura mamsam and the absolutely delish chaapa vepudu (fish fry). All of these dishes go great with the classic perugannam (wonderfully spiced curd rice) or steaming ghee-rice with karam podi.

The only area that SS disappoints is with its desserts. They haven't, unfortunately, gotten much more creative than trifle pudding and caramel custard. The restaurant also serves North- Indian and Chinese food, but one suspects this is only for the occasional rebellious foodie. Believe us, ordering noodles and manchuria at SS is not just misguided, it's damn near blasphemous.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
SOUTHERN SPICE SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
8.0
102 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Listed In
  • Address
    8-2-350/3/2, Road Number 3, Plot Number 34, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad - 500034
  • Telephone
    6610-3434, 6610-3435, 6682-2619
  • Distance
  • Sub-Categories
  • Recommended Dishes
    Raagi Sangati, Gongura Mamsam
  • Parking
    Valet parking
  • Veg/Non-veg
  • Year Started
  • Timings
    1200-1530; 1900-2300
  • Closed On
    No Day
  • Average Meal Per Couple
    Rs. 250
  • Payment Option(s)
    Cash, Credit Cards, Diner's Club, American Expess
  • Closest Bus Stop
    Road No. 3, Banjara Hills
  • Closest MMTS Station
    Lakdi-ka-Pul
  • Add New Field:
EVENTS AT SOUTHERN SPICE
There are no events at Southern Spice scheduled currently.
SOUTHERN SPICE USER REVIEWS
1 - 14 OF 14 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
8.0
102 USERS
Food
Service/Courteousness
Ambience
Value For Money
5.0
6.0
6.5
5.0
Good for date/family - NA
Easy parking - NA
Long waiting - NA
Niru on 24th May 2012, 6:49pm | Permalink
Recent addition is Southern Spice in Kukatpally. Food is marvelous especially thalis, Biryani & Chinese. I make it a point to visit every week.
RATING
10
cheenir123 on 24th May 2012, 6:55pm | Permalink
Best Restaurant in Kukatpally. Excellent ambience and quality
Venkat Revula on 14th Jan 2004, 10:39pm | Permalink
good place, but a little expensive, i thought...
RATING
6
Prashanth Reddy Gurijala on 11th Oct 2003, 1:11pm | Permalink
simply superb.
RATING
10
Sarin Kumar Naredla on 11th Oct 2003, 1:09pm | Permalink
Excellent.This restaurant can be rated one among the BEST in india.The interiors are great.The food remembers me of the authentic south indian food.Its been a long time since i had such a good food.Hope southern spice opens one of its branches here in USA.
RATING
10
Ramakrishna Kotha on 18th Sep 2003, 7:19am | Permalink
I really like the ambience.The food is delicious.especially the baby corn 65,and butter chicken.Waiting to go back and eat in Southern spice.
RATING
10
Chakri Dada on 30th Jun 2003, 8:16pm | Permalink
All the reviews are interesting. I am in Toronto and dont have a chance to taste the food there but from reading the review I can rate it as a good place
RATING
10
Srikanth Jetti on 17th Jun 2003, 11:57am | Permalink
Needs more varieties of south Indian dishes
RATING
8
Nizam Ali Baig Mogal on 14th May 2003, 2:28pm | Permalink
I think Non-Veggies can't find a better resaurant than SP
RATING
10
Sashikanth Meduri on 15th Apr 2003, 9:47pm | Permalink
I was a veggie.One day I went to southern spice.I am no more a veggie.
RATING
8
Deepti Deepti on 24th Feb 2003, 1:52pm | Permalink
hmmmnn!i liked it a lot the food was sumptous&spicy keep up the work ss
RATING
10
Chandana Tamma on 24th Jan 2003, 1:07am | Permalink
I miss the food at southern spice.iit is delicious.i am now in usa
RATING
10
Amit Lakka on 24th Jan 2003, 1:05am | Permalink
I miss my restauran
t food
RATING
10
Ramakrishna Kotha on 24th Jan 2003, 1:03am | Permalink
I like it
RATING
8
Mohan on 6th Aug 2002, 3:10am | Permalink
For South Indian food buffs, this place is heaven. The decor is appealing. The only thing is that it could get too crowded at times.
RATING
8
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Southern Spice!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
3-6-10, Anasuya Commercial Complex, Himayathnagar (1.8km)
6-3-348/12 A, Opposite Vengal Rao Park, Road Number 1, Banjara Hills (2.9km)
Unit 701-703, 7th floor, Reliance Classic, Above Barista, Road No. 1, Banjara Hills (2.5km)
Shop Number 1 & 2, Green Lands, My Home Laxmi Nivas Apartment, Opposite Green Park Hotel, Ameerpet (4.6km)
8-3-967, Main Road, Srinagar Colony (5.2km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
southern spice banjara hills restaurants
southern spice (since 1999)
southeren spice restaurrent punjagutta get photo
southern spice hotel in banjara
caramel custard himayatmagar
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.