Sunday, 21 July 2019 »  Login
in
»
Restaurants / Bars » Nanking Restaurant
I am at

Nanking Restaurant

Nanking Restaurant
Deepa Menon / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
8.0
Food
Service/Courteousness
Ambience
Value For Money
8.0
7.0
6.0
NA
Suggestions
Good for date/family
NA
Easy parking
NA
Long waiting
NA
This one's up there with Karachi biscuits, Madina biryani and even - we'll risk blasphemy and say it - the Charminar. For the longest time in Hyderabad, almost 50 years to be precise, if you wanted Chinese you went to Nanking. Even if it was the other end of town, even if it was always crowded, and even though the ambience didn't exactly send you over the moon.

Now with the ever-present 'dragon' bandis at every corner and the extra-swanky 'oriental' restaurants springing up like an epidemic, Nanking is still where it's at for a lot of people. But when you first step into this restaurant, you'll wonder what the screaming fuss is about.

Like all good old eating joints everywhere, the emphasis here is on the food - everything else is sort of an accidental side-dish. Nanking is usually crammed with office-goers on their lunch-break, so it tends to be noisy. Besides which, the lighting is almost morosely dim. In fact, the best way to try this restaurant is to not eat here at all, but take the food home.

Why, then, is this place so popular? Well, once you're seated, the service is satisfyingly quick, the portions are generous (and reasonable), and the food is simply yum. And, of course, if we're talking about a vintage restaurant, then we must take you through the favourites.

For starters try the Crispy Chicken, or its ginger-y counterpart. The fiery wanton dishes are also very popular, especially the soups. Bamboo-Shoot Noodles with Roast Pork is classic, but the noodles also go great with the Vegetable Chow (mushrooms and bamboo) or Chicken Sweet 'N' Sour. It doesn't really matter what you order, as long as you stick to the fairly conventional. Dessert is sort of an afterthought here - if you'll excuse the pun! - so your choice of ice-cream slab is about all you'll get.

In the age of first-impressions and super-packaging, Nanking surprises you by not giving a damn of what you think of their personal charms. During peak hour (which usually lasts all lunch or dinner) you'll be asked to wait interminably for someone to clear their table. 'How long will it take?' you ask with the kind of desperate hope that springs straight from an empty stomach. The man at the counter shrugs - it might take fifteen minutes, it might take an hour. PR is not their biggest asset; they prefer to put their money where your mouth is.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
NANKING RESTAURANT SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
8.8
112 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
EVENTS AT NANKING RESTAURANT
There are no events at Nanking Restaurant scheduled currently.
NANKING RESTAURANT USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 15 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
8.8
112 USERS
Food
Service/Courteousness
Ambience
Value For Money
1.0
1.0
5.0
1.0
Good for date/family - No
Easy parking - No
Long waiting - Yes
Juanita on 20th Jun 2012, 2:06pm | Permalink
The food is not what i expected, Fried noodles is a soup with a small pieces of fried things and also the service is really bad, you have to wait 40 min to received only a horrible food.
For sure i dont recommend this "restaurant" for my friends

Pros:
Cons: Bad food, service and ambience
Aspraso on 23rd Jun 2012, 8:40pm | Permalink
The top value-for-money from Nanking comes from its takeaways -- yes it has cramped seating, the wait for a table is too long, the service guys are so keen to shove (not serve) food on to your plates to rush you into finishing your food. But the preparations and portion sizes rank high, hence plan takeaways.
Portuguese Man-of-War on 20th Jun 2012, 4:03pm | Permalink
I agree. This place lives off the hype it has, which sustains thanks to people who refuse to form their own opinion and to those who do not care to revise their opinions.
Hyderabadi on 22nd Mar 2010, 10:35pm | Permalink
hair in food, very unhygeinic

Pros: ambience
Cons: laftovers mixed
Sunil Kumar on 22nd Mar 2010, 10:28pm | Permalink
This is probably the worst restaurant i have ever been to and i would not recommend this to anybody who has a good taste of food. They cook the food very unhygenically which can be felt when you are tasting it, If you order drumsticks 8 out of them will taste good but there will be one or two that are yesterdays leftovers. Also you will get hair etc in the food which most of the people will not observe in the dim lights. Better be careful.. I am writing this just after i came from NANKINg in hyderabad today where we found two stale drumsticks out of 10 and hair in mixed soft noodles. And when we showed it to the waiter he said whenever the customer finds out they will just replace it and don't cancel the order even though the customer feels like puking out. ---and he cust has to still eat the food because they will not cancel it. Pathetic customer service and i am sure people who can distinguish the taste of the food will never go again... Please do not go to NANKING you will never know the food that you are eating is of yesterday or day before. Take Care.

Pros: ambience
Cons: yesterdays food and hair unhygienic
RATING
1
Sheila Vedanayagam on 7th Dec 2003, 12:06am | Permalink
I'm an Indian born and bred in London and whenever I visit Hyderabad (my parents home town) I have to take a trip to Nanking!!! It's simply the best Chinese food I've ever tasted and that's no exaggeration! I love it! Love it! Love it! Mmmmmm! ;-)
RATING
10
Kiran Mandava on 2nd Dec 2003, 1:15am | Permalink
The only thing I miss in USA is that weekend dinner I used to have at Nanking with my family. No doubt the the best eating place in town.
RATING
10
Manoj Nair on 23rd Oct 2003, 8:16am | Permalink
Excellent food. Jimmys a perfect host with a good memory and personal touch but barring a few he needs a better customer friendly team.
RATING
10
Xy Yz on 3rd Oct 2003, 8:56pm | Permalink
OK food but clearly lacking customer service basics. greet your guests with a smile ,they are the reason you guys are in business.
all I saw was scowls from the owner down to the waiters.
RATING
2
Suresh B on 29th Sep 2003, 11:28pm | Permalink
Really good food. I visited that place after 5 years and found that they are maintaining the food quality really well even now. Yeah! they need to expand the floor space which will make it little less crowded and gives a better appeal.
RATING
10
Manoj V on 9th Jul 2003, 8:10pm | Permalink
Food is good. But the guy who runs the place is extremely rude. Place an order (parcel) and see what I mean. He has an almost permanent frown on his face.
RATING
4
BIRENDRA SINGH on 10th May 2003, 3:13am | Permalink
IT IS,GOOD,THAT A PLACE LIKE YOURS EXISTS.
RATING
10
Lakshman Sodagam on 19th Feb 2003, 10:39pm | Permalink
eating out a chinese oriental in nanking is worth the price !!
RATING
8
Lakshman Sodagam on 19th Feb 2003, 10:36pm | Permalink
i havent had chinese food as good as what we get here even in europe ..its simply mouth watering
RATING
2
Take Care on 12th Jan 2003, 8:32pm | Permalink
one of best ,tasty soft noodules u can have here
RATING
10
Rungam Sodagam on 23rd Sep 2002, 7:31pm | Permalink
I enjoy the food here,its the best place for chinese cuisine at an affordable price
RATING
8
Prashanth Reddy on 11th Aug 2002, 12:25pm | Permalink
this is good but don`t have fast service
RATING
4
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Nanking Restaurant!
Rate Location
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

RELATED LISTINGS
12-2-825/2/5, Opposite Petrol Bunk, Mehdipatnam (2.7km)
ITC Kakatiya Sheraton Hotels & Towers, 6-802/3, On Somajiguda Begumpet Road, Begumpet (4.4km)
Taj Banjara, Road Number 1, Banjara Hills (2.6km)
Raj Bhavan Road, Somajiguda (12.0km)
Near Airport Flyover, Begumpet (5.4km)
Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
nan king bowenpally
nanking near to kphb
sheila vedanayagam
nanking restarents in hyderabad
nanking restaurant panjagutta
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.